Top 50 resources Tech Experts go to for inspiration — Part 1

Erwin Wils - Mindset coach
5 min readJun 7, 2021

It’s funny how things can change over time. When I graduated from university as a Master of Science in electrical engineering, I would have never thought to become an entrepreneur. I saw myself growing in the corporate world and the common thread for me was process optimization. Every role and step I took was more and more towards that goal. What I didn’t realize, was that I was already coaching people down the road, by sharing my knowledge and wisdom and showing them where to get that information themselves.

Nowadays I am an entrepreneur, working on my own dreams, transforming them into a vision and goals and taking steps to achieve them. As a mindset coach and business strategist at Millionaire Life Strategy I empower Tech Experts to boost their business and themselves, transforming them into the person that will achieve their ambitions, goals, and beyond. I do that by means of sharing knowledge, giving trainings and masterclasses, coaching and true transformational work. It is my belief that technology will change the world and it is my drive and passion to help other tech entrepreneurs to make that positive impact. I want each and every client to become my next success story.

One of my other passions is learning, because that’s how I grow and become a better version of myself over and over again. You can call me the eternal student. Each and every day I challenge myself to learn something, no matter what. The following quote of one of my coaches that I truly love, embodies the reason for that: “once you stop growing, you start dying” and dying is the last thing I want to do. When you see me following a class, seminar, conference, training or whatever live event where knowledge is to be gained, you will find me on one of the front rows and probably one of the very few that is asking questions. I never understood (and still don’t) why nobody else is asking questions. I think the main reason for people not to ask questions is they feel embarrassed doing so, because it might be “common knowledge they should already have known” or it implies they didn’t pay attention, or any other strange reason.

Honestly, I couldn’t care less what others think of me when I’m in my learning mode. I am there to learn something and when something is not clear, or I want to check whether or not I interpreted the information correctly, I ask a question. In my opinion, the only stupid question that exists, is the one not asked. That’s what I tell my students as well during my trainings and masterclasses. That’s another passion of mine by the way, sharing knowledge. Because, what good is knowledge if you don’t share it?

This is exactly the reason why I decided to write this blog. I have asked my clients and other tech experts where they go to for gaining knowledge or getting inspired. This resulted in a list of 50 magazines, podcasts and website that I am sharing to inspire you. Some of those really stood out besides the rest and will be mentioned in more detail by quotes from fellow Tech Experts, why they recommend this particular one.

The list

I have divided the list in three parts: Magazines, Podcasts and Websites. There are many more resources you can visit, like following people on LinkedIn, visiting websites from competitors, etcetera, but from all the input I have received, I have distilled a top 50 and divided them over the mentioned categories. This resulted in 9 magazines, 22 podcasts and 19 websites. Some of them are well-known, and others were completely new for me and inspired me to visit them. The list is in no particular order. I will finish this series with a little bonus for inspiration. I hope you enjoy it and that it will inspire you to keep on growing!

Magazines

Let’s start off with some magazines. During my research I have gathered 9 magazines that tech experts use to get their inspiration from. Follow the links to find out if it inspires you too:

1. Wired magazine
Wired covers important advances in science and technology and explores the impact these advances have on everyday life. There is always a human element to their stories. — Jim O’Connell MBA, Envara Health

2. FastCompany
They do great coverage of not only tech and business, but also have a focus on wellness technology and are an example of incredible journalism — Amaya Weddle, bande

3. We Can Women entrepreneurs Can Together Magazine
“We Can Women Entrepreneurs Can Together” is a free digital magazine, but its provide quality content where women can find fellowship and community to help each other navigate the challenges of the business world — Mia Green, findthisbest

4. MIT Technology review
Founded at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1899, MIT Technology Review is a world-renowned, independent media company whose insight, analysis, reviews, interviews and live events explain the newest technologies and their commercial, social and political impacts. MIT Technology Review derives its authority from its relationship to the world’s foremost technology institution and from its editors’ deep technical knowledge, capacity to see technologies in their broadest context, and unequaled access to leading innovators and researchers.

5. BizTech magazine
BizTech explores technology and business issues that IT leaders and business managers face when they’re evaluating and implementing a solution.

6. Entrepreneur magazine
Entrepreneur is an American magazine and website that carries news stories about entrepreneurship, small business management, and business.

7. Inc. Magazine
Inc. is the only major brand dedicated exclusively to owners and managers of growing private companies, with the aim to deliver real solutions for today’s innovative company builders.

8. Saas magazine
SaaS Mag, the world’s definitive quarterly SaaS publication for those working or interested in the industry, speaks directly to the biggest players in the SaaS space to gather key business and technical insights, as well as current market trends. The biggest quarterly SaaS publication to date, SaaS Mag is distributed to a network of tens of thousands of professionals in the SaaS space, offering expert techniques, advice and profiles from owners, advisors and leading commentators in SaaS.

9. Start your business magazine
Start Your Own Business is a no-nonsense guide on launching and running a small business. They provide tips on start-ups and profile successful entrepreneurs. Start Your Own Business offers features on how to be your own boss and achieve the American Dream! The magazine is a rock-solid resource for first-time entrepreneurs, expanding startups and for those who dream of one day launching their own enterprise. Start Your Own Business presents the latest trends ranging from franchising and financing to business opportunities and strategic SEO marketing techniques.

Next week I will publish the Podcasts list. The week after, the websites. And I will close it off with a little inspirational bonus in the third week.

--

--

Erwin Wils - Mindset coach

Mindset coach and business strategist, empowering tech experts to boost their business and themselves, transforming into the person that achieves their goals+